Back from New Orleans and Upcoming Auction!

So, we are back from New Orleans.  That was a REALLY quick trip!  We showed up promptly at 8:00 a.m. this morning to be fingerprinted and within an hour we were all finished.  Everyone was very pleasant at the immigration office.  I forgot I had a pocket knife in my purse.  The guard just told me to take it out and bring it to the car and come back.  Wow!  After watching the recent rounds of movies with secret service agents pouncing on people if they have so much as a match in their pocket, I was amazed that I was not face down on the floor handcuffed!  Hehe…I just took it out and threw it away. 

We didn’t know what to do at 9am in New Orleans!  Looked for Morning Call…one of my old favorite hang outs.  It wasn’t there.  😦  Boo…. I sure did look forward to eating some beignets!  We were too lazy to go downtown, so we hopped back in the car and came home.

I have to say, that was the easiest fingerprinting appointment I have EVER had!  I had to be fingerprinted for a security clearance when I worked at Fort Polk and the FBI rejected my prints because they were not clear.  So, I had to do it again.  I also had to undergo a background check when I worked for the State and had to be fingerprinted.  Those too were rejected and I had to have them redone.  I don’t know if I am just naturally sweaty, or if I use too much lotion, or what, but they generally do not come out clear.  This whole biometric electronic scanner stuff was pretty cool!  No ink to make runny…I just put my hands on the scanner (something you would see out of a high tech FBI movie), and voila!  Clear prints!

One of my friends here in Alexandria is adopting.  Check out her blog and facebook page.  She is having an auction of donated items to help defray some of the fees and costs for international adoption.  Auction to bring Max home.  Here is Karen’s blog: Click Here.

This has given me great inspiration!  I have had many items donated to us by some of my wonderful friends.  I will be putting those up for bid soon.  I am also going to make some mini scrapbook albums and banners.  Right now, I am just gathering items and making the listings.  Once we are matched with our son, I will open the auction items for bids.  Check back soon!

Happy Wednesday everyone!

Andrea

About perpetualrenovator

Preservationist, lover of all things old, scrapbooker, mom and wife. Questions? Email me at: Awarren1802@gmail dot com
This entry was posted in Adoption, Fundraising and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

