Home study coming up…

Well, it is finally here.  I thought this week would never arrive.  Our home study will commence this Friday.  I am so excited!  I have been tempted several times to call our social worker up to see if she could come sooner, however, I knew this would be folly since we were adding on a laundry room, celebrating the holidays and working on tidying up the house.  All things happen in due time. 

I am happy to report that our yard is cut, our house is tidy, our power tools are put away and we are just waiting for Friday to come.   I hope everything goes well and that we make a good impression.  We are so excited to get the journey under way.  Things have been progressing slow on the paperwork/dossier side.  But, upon completion of the home study, the process will progress to a whole new level.  It can’t be soon enough for me! Patience…patience….

On another note, in December I made an appointment for January 4th to see my primary care doctor to verify my state of health.  I have never seen this particular doctor before.  When we moved here, we were given a list of providers by our new insurance company to choose from so I selected her from a list.  She came highly recommended by other people.  So, this doctor’s office sent me a packet of paperwork to fill out and have ready.  I filled it all out, but did not sign the medical releases nor the privacy practice notice.  I could not read either of them and most of the pages were cut off by the copy machine.  Not a good sign.  Why would I sign I received and read something that is illegible?  I was told to arrive 15 minutes early so she could copy my card and id.  My appointment was at 1:15 and I was there at 1:00.  The lady at the desk took my cards and told me to have a seat.  She did not copy and give me back my card until 1:40 and then she put my chart behind all of the other charts (people who had appointments at 1:30, 1:40 and 2:00).  Finally about 2:15 when there were 6 people in line at the desk and one lady being told that the doctor could not see her because she was running behind on appointments, I decided to leave.  If the doctor was running behind and they were rescheduling people, it took her 40 minutes to copy my card and no one in the waiting room looked happy, then I really did not want to give this place my business.  Because, after all, it is a business.  I cannot stand when doctors’ offices are not run very efficiently.  So, I left and went back to work.  I can’t afford to miss work and I hate waiting.  About 2:40 they called my name and when I was not there, they called the house and got my husband.  Since I had already given him an earful about how poorly this doctor’s office was managed, he very kindly told the lady on the phone just that.  GO Steven!  He told them we would take our business elsewhere.  I know doctors are busy, but so are we all.  When you do what you are supposed to do, arrive early, fill out paperwork, etc., there is just some expectation that the doctor and the office staff will do what they are supposed to do.  They charge you an arm and a leg, you would think they would be able to hire a more efficient staff.

Needless to say, we chose another primary care provider.  In fact, my husband made himself an appointment and said he would try them out.  I thought that was really nice of him.  He knows I hate to wait and, worse, I hate rude doctors and rude staff.  I am not sure if the other doctor was rude or not, but her office staff sure was!  Anyway, I hope these visits go better and we are able to get our paperwork filled out.  It is so hard to choose a physician by picking from a list.  We lucked out with Vivian’s pediatrician.  We selected him from a list too, but he happened to be on call at the hospital when she was born, so he was the first doctor to care for her.  I wish I had that kind of luck.

Ok, I am quitting the rambling.  I have nothing else to report.  Hopefully, after the home study on Friday, we will have something more to report.  If you get bored here, check out our house renovation blog at:  www.perpetualrenovator.wordpress.com

Andrea

About perpetualrenovator

Preservationist, lover of all things old, scrapbooker, mom and wife. Questions? Email me at: Awarren1802@gmail dot com
This entry was posted in Adoption, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

