Vivian saving toys for “brother” and “sister”

Today, Vivian and I cleaned her room and purged some toys to make room for her new Christmas toys.  This is a yearly tradition we started when she was 2 or 3.  We let her pick the toys she no longer wants and we donate them to charity or give them to someone we know who needs them.

This year, as she was sorting through them, she was having a hard time deciding what to get rid of and what to keep.  I try to have a place for everything in her room, but when Christmas time comes, she just has too much to manage and it gets overwhelming.  So, I try to keep only relevant toys and games she consistently plays with.  I also let her decide.  I don’t want to force her to let anything go if she is not ready to.  But, the rule is, if you keep it YOU MUST keep it organized. 

To start the process, what I do is ask her to gather all of one kind of toy and we put it in a pile in the middle of the room.  For example, today, I told her to gather all of her baby dolls and put them in the middle of the room.  Then we went on to stuffed animals, purses, and  play clothes.  I tell her to go through what is in the pile and put the ones she wants to keep away and the rest to put in the container to donate.

Today, she was looking long and hard at some of her toys and she finally piped up and said, “I don’t play with this anymore, but I don’t want to give it away, so let’s save it for brother who is coming.”  PERFECT!  So, I got two plastic storage containers, I let her label them ‘brother’ and ‘sister’ and I let her sort her toys into them.  She gave brother two baby dolls, but hey, at least she was able to let go of a couple things but also having the comfort that someone in the house will be playing with them.  They are her old friends.

I was very excited about this.  She filled up sister’s with purses, clothes, baby dolls, stuffed animals, hats and other misc. things.  Brother got all of the frogs, baby toys, dancing elmo, puzzles and two baby dolls.  These containers will go in the attic.  Brother’s toys will come back down right before we bring him home.  Sister’s will stay in the attic for a couple years.  We are not ready to adopt sister yet. 

Happy Wednesday!

Andrea

About perpetualrenovator

Preservationist, lover of all things old, scrapbooker, mom and wife. Questions? Email me at: Awarren1802@gmail dot com
This entry was posted in Adoption, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Vivian saving toys for “brother” and “sister”

  1. Carol says:

    She has such a loving heart. She reminds me of her mom.

Leave a Reply

